February Round Up

I don’t know about you, but this month has flown by. January feels like last week! Is this what life is like when you are no longer a student? Or is this just what happens as you grow up?

This month has been so exciting in terms of making plans. I have booked a holiday, weekends away, concerts and a festival! So a lot of fun things in the pipeline and a lot of reasons to look forward. I know it is only February, well March, but I just have the feeling this year is going to be a good one.

I moved back home to live with my parents this month, after moving out 6 months ago, in a bid to save money and to get rid of that bloody student overdraft I’m still living out of! The plan was to always ‘move out and assess the situation in 6 months’ and it turns out it is a little beyond my budget to live out right now. I have not failed, life is a learning curve! And who am I to complain when I come home to dinner on the table?

Here are a few things I’ve been loving/discovered in February…

3

New Look Devotion Perfume –My best friend bought me the mini version of this perfume for Christmas and I went through it in about 2 weeks, I could not get enough of it. On one of my many lunch break trips into New Look I saw it had been reduced to something silly like £7 for 100ml so I picked one up. I’m not going to bother trying to describe the smell to you, it’s not floral or fruity, but it smells amazing. I think it is being discontinued hence the price, so if you are in the market for a new everyday perfume head over to New Look ASAP.

New Look Matte Liquid Lipsticks – I am obsessed with liquid lipsticks and even though I have found my holy grail formula, the hunt never stops! I am a bit sceptical about high street clothing retailers entering the beauty industry, but New Look have recently re-branded their range and it all looks gorgeous. I picked up the shade ‘Fawn’ to start with which is a grey toned dark purple. The main thing I look for in a liquid lipstick is lasting power, I can’t be dealing with constantly checking my lips and having to top up! The lasting power on this was pretty impressive and it didn’t completely dry out my lips (the applicator is a little on the big side making precise application a bit trickier but you can’t have everything). I returned and picked up ‘Stone’ and ‘Mocha’. I fear these shades are also being discontinued, but there are plenty more gorgeous colours in the range. I am certainly tempted by other make-up products from New Look now.

top to bottom – Stone, Fawn, Mocha *It took me SO long to get these swatches off my hand*

Simple Kind To Skin Hydrating Light Moisturiser – I used to be so obsessed with buying high-end beauty products, but I’ve started to realise that with some staples, simple is best – pun unintended. This moisturiser is exactly what it says on the tin; light, hydrating and kind to my skin. This month I’ve been using it in the morning as a base/primer for my foundation, I find my foundation blends so much better when my skin is a little tacky/dewy.

Moonlight – One of the best films I have seen in a very long time, I can’t stop thinking about it. A young black man in growing up in America coming to terms with his sexuality, this film is split into 3 chapters representing different stages of the growing up process. All three actors who portray the boy deliver amazing performances, it is heart-breaking, thought-provoking, beautiful and inspiring. Read this brilliant review and more importantly go and see this Oscar-winning movie!

How has your month been? What have you been loving?

over and out, the new girl x

One thought on “February Round Up

Leave a Reply

